Our use of cookies

Some cookies used are essential to providing a service, while others help us improve your experience and provide us with insights into how the site is being used.

For more detailed information about the cookies we use, see our Cookies page.

Cookie preferences

UK Parliament Election

A UK Parliamentary election is due to be held on Thursday 4th July 2024.

Make sure you're ready

  • Register to vote by 18th June 2024
  • You will need photo ID to vote in this election
  • Apply for new postal/postal proxy votes by 19th June (5pm)
  • Apply for new proxy (in person) votes by 26th June (5pm)
  • Apply for a voter ID certificate by 26th June (5pm)

At a UK Parliamentary election, registered voters in every area of the country vote for a Member of Parliament (MP) to represent their constituency in the House of Commons. There are 650 constituencies in the UK, 57 of which are in Scotland.

For this election, voters will be asked to mark their ballot paper by placing a cross [X] in the box next to their choice.

This election is run on UK Parliamentary constituency boundaries which changed recently. There are four constituencies which cover the Fife local government area:

  • Cowdenbeath and Kirkcaldy
  • Dunfermline and Dollar
  • Glenrothes and Mid Fife
  • North East Fife

As a result of the recent boundary changes, part of the Clackmannanshire local government area now falls into the new Dunfermline and Dollar constituency. If you are unsure of which constituency you live and vote in, please contact the helpline on 03451 55 55 11. Your poll card which is issued in the run up to the election will tell you exactly which polling station to go to.

If you live in the Clackmannanshire area, you can find out more here about the election in the Alloa and Grangemouth constituency.

The Returning Officer is responsible for the administration of the election in their constituency. The Chief Executive of Fife Council is the Returning Officer for all four of the above constituencies.

The counting of the votes cast for the UK Parliamentary Election will take place immediately after the close of poll on Thursday 4th July 2024.

UK election information

Contact Details

Electoral Services Team

Fife House, North Street, Glenrothes, KY7 5LT