New MSYPs elected in Fife

Nine new members of the Scottish Youth Parliament have been elected to represent constituencies across Fife.

The Scottish Youth Parliament is a youth parliament for elected young people, aged 14 to 24 years old, to stand in a non-party political forum. Serving for two years, Fife's new MSPYs are now officially in office and have already begun to represent the views of their local young people.

The MSYPs, whose constituencies mirror those of the Scottish Parliament, are:

Cowdenbeath & Inverkeithing:

  • Daisy Hood
  • Jordanna Rae

Dunfermline and West Fife:

  • Fraser Jarvis
  • Angus Robertson

Glenrothes and Mid Fife:

  • Lewis Johnston


  • Alisha Ahmad
  • Karam Aslam

North East Fife:

  • Callum Jukes
  • Syed Mashain Bukhari

The newly elected MSYPs will be out and about in their constituencies, visiting youth clubs and meeting with a range of decision-makers before taking their places at the next sitting of the Youth Parliament.

Fife Council's Communities Spokesperson Cllr Linda Erskine said: "After impressive campaigning, I'd like to congratulate the elected MSYPs and wish them the very best in their new roles as the voice of young Fifers. They will have an important part to play, both locally and nationally, in shaping positive change and delivering on the Youth Parliament's mission to make Scotland the best place in the world to grow up."

The Scottish Youth Parliament is the democratically elected voice of Scotland’s young people. Scottish Youth Parliament is a charity registered in Scotland (No: SC032662). SYP is grounded in the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child, particularly Article 12, which lays out young people’s right to be listened to on the issues that affect them, and for their views to be heard.