2022 ES 1

THE FIFE COUNCIL - EDUCATION SCRUTINY COMMITTEE – REMOTE MEETING

21 June 2022

10.00 am - 10.10 am

- PRESENT:Councillors Naz Anis-Miah, Lynn Ballantyne-Wardlaw,
Aude Boubaker-Calder, Patrick Browne, Ian Cameron,
Colin Davidson, Dave Dempsey, Sean Dillon, Alycia Hayes,
Louise Kennedy-Dalby, Kathleen Leslie, Lynn Mowatt, Sarah Neal,
Daniel Wilson; and Jonny Tepp (substituting for Councillor Caffrey).
- ATTENDING: Carrie Lindsay, Executive Director, Education & Children's Services; Lindsay Thomson, Head of Legal and Democratic Services; Helena Couperwhite, Service Manager, Committee Services; and Diane Barnet, Committee Officer, Legal & Democratic Services, Finance & Corporate Services.

APOLOGIES FOR Mr. Brian Blanchflower, religious representative, Church of Scotland; ABSENCE: and Mr. George Haggarty, religious representative, Roman Catholic Church.

1. MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEE

Decision

The Committee noted: its membership as detailed on the agenda for this meeting; and that Councillor Tepp was in attendance, substituting for Councillor Caffrey.

2. APPOINTMENT OF CONVENER

<u>Motion</u>

Councillor Mowatt, seconded by Councillor Neal, moved that Councillor Hayes be appointed as Convener.

Amendment

Councillor Dempsey, seconded by Councillor Boubaker-Calder, moved as an amendment that Councillor Leslie be appointed as Convener.

Roll Call

For the Motion - 7 votes

Councillors Anis-Miah; Ballantyne-Wardlaw; Hayes; Kennedy-Dalby; Mowatt; Neal; and Wilson.

For the Amendment - 8 votes

Councillors Boubaker-Calder; Browne; Cameron; Dempsey; Davidson; Dillon; Leslie and Tepp.

Decision

Having received a majority of votes, Councillor Leslie was duly appointed as Convener of this Committee and thereafter took the 'chair'.

3. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTE CONVENER

<u>Motion</u>

Councillor Gillon, seconded by Councillor Tepp, moved that Councillor Boubaker-Calder be appointed as Depute Convener of this Committee.

Amendment

Councillor Hayes, seconded by Councillor Kennedy Dalby moved as an amendment that Councillor Neal be appointed as Depute Convener.

Roll Call

For the motion - 8 votes

Councillors Boubaker-Calder; Patrick Browne; Cameron, Dempsey, Davidson; Dillon; Leslie and Wilson.

For the amendment - 7 votes

Councillors Anis-Miah; Ballantyne-Wardlaw; Hayes; Kennedy-Dalby; Mowatt; Neal; and Wilson.

Decision

Having received a majority of votes, Councillor Boubaker-Calder was duly appointed as Depute Convener of this Committee.