2022 PCS 1

THE FIFE COUNCIL - PEOPLE AND COMMUNITIES SCRUTINY COMMITTEE - REMOTE MEETING

15th June, 2022 10.00 a.m. – 10.30 a.m.

PRESENT: Councillors Eugene Clarke (Convener) Darren Watt, Blair Allan,

Ken Caldwell, Alistair Cameron, Brian Goodall, Allan Knox, Donald Lothian, Julie MacDougall, Lynn Mowatt, Sam Steele, Bailey-Lee Robb, Ann Verner, Jan Wincott, Kathleen Leslie (substitute for Councillor Peter Gulline) and Gordon Pryde (substitute for Councillor

Alex Campbell).

ATTENDING: Michael Enston, Executive Director - Communities;

Helena Couperwhite, Service Manager - Committee Services and Michelle Hyslop, Committee Officer, Legal and Democratic Services.

1. MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEE

Decision

The Committee noted its membership as detailed on the agenda.

2. APPOINTMENT OF CONVENER

Motion

Councillor Verner, seconded by Councillor Mowatt, nominated Councillor Goodall as Convener.

Amendment

Councillor Knox, seconded by Councillor Lothian, nominated Councillor Clarke as Convener.

Roll Call

For the Motion - 7 votes

Councillors Blair Allan, Ken Caldwell, Brian Goodall, Lynn Mowatt, Bailey-Lee Robb, Sam Steele and Ann Verner.

For the Amendment - 9 votes

Councillors Alistair Cameron, Eugene Clarke, Allan Knox, Kathleen Leslie, Donald Lothian, Julie MacDougall, Gordon Pryde, Darren Watt and Jan Wincott.

Decision

Councillor Clarke was duly appointed as Convener of the People & Communities Scrutiny Committee.

3. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTE CONVENER

Motion

Councillor Verner, seconded by Councillor Mowatt, nominated Councillor Goodall as Depute Convener.

Amendment

Councillor Leslie, seconded by Councillor Knox, nominated Councillor Watt as Depute Convener.

Roll Call

For the Motion - 7 votes

Councillors Blair Allan, Ken Caldwell, Brian Goodall, Lynn Mowatt, Bailey-Lee Robb, Sam Steele and Ann Verner.

For the Amendment - 9 votes

Councillors Alistair Cameron, Eugene Clarke, Allan Knox, Kathleen Leslie, Donald Lothian, Julie MacDougall, Gordon Pryde, Darren Watt and Jan Wincott.

Decision

Councillor Watt was duly appointed as Depute Convener of the People & Communities Scrutiny Committee.

4. CONSIDERATION OF MOTION

Motion

Councillor Allan seconded by Councillor Goodall, submitted a motion requesting additional items to be added to the committee work programme. As this item was not on the agenda, it was agreed that a vote be taken on whether to accept the motion.

Roll Call

For the Motion - 7 votes

Councillors Blair Allan, Ken Caldwell, Brian Goodall, Lynn Mowatt, Bailey-Lee Robb, Sam Steele and Ann Verner.

For the Amendment - 9 votes

Councillors Alistair Cameron, Eugene Clarke, Allan Knox, Kathleen Leslie, Donald Lothian, Julie MacDougall, Gordon Pryde, Darren Watt and Jan Wincott.

Decision

Accordingly, it was agreed not to accept the motion.

2022 PCS 3

5. REQUEST FOR ALTERNATIVE MEETING DATE

Having noted that the next meeting of the Committee was currently scheduled for 1st September, 2022, the Committee requested that consideration be given to identify an earlier date to avoid undue delay in consideration of Committee business.

Decision

The Committee noted that an alternative date would be arranged.