2021 FC 259

THE FIFE COUNCIL - FIFE COUNCIL - REMOTE MEETING

11th March, 2021

10.00 a.m. - 10.50 a.m.

PRESENT:

Councillors Jim Leishman (Convener), David Alexander,

Lesley Backhouse, Alistair Bain, David Barratt, John Beare, Tim Brett,

James Calder, Ken Caldwell, Alistair Cameron, Ian Cameron, Alex Campbell, Rod Cavanagh, Bobby Clelland, Dave Coleman,

Bill Connor, Altany Craik, Neil Crooks, Colin Davidson,

Dave Dempsey, John Docherty, Linda Erskine, Ian Ferguson,

Derek Glen, David Graham, Fiona Grant, Mick Green,

Sharon Green-Wilson, Gary Guichan, Garry Haldane, Jean Hall Muir,

Judy Hamilton, Andy Heer, Zoe Hisbent, Linda Holt,

Margaret Kennedy, Gordon Langlands, Helen Law, Kathleen Leslie, Rosemary Liewald, Carol Lindsay, Jane Ann Liston, Mary Lockhart,

Donald Lothian, David MacDiarmid, Mino Manekshaw,

Karen Marjoram, Alice McGarry, Lea McLelland, Derek Noble, Dominic Nolan, John O'Brien, Tony Orton, Ross Paterson,

Bill Porteous, Graham Ritchie, David Ross, David J Ross, Fay Sinclair, Ryan Smart, Kate Stewart, Jonny Tepp, Brian Thomson, Ann Verner,

Andrew Verrecchia, Ross Vettraino, Craig Walker, Darren Watt,

Vikki Wilton and Jan Wincott.

APOLOGIES FOR Councillors Gavin Ellis and Richard Watt. **ABSENCE:**

219. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations of interest were submitted in terms of Standing Order 7.1.

220. REVIEW OF COMMUNITY COUNCIL SCHEME – UPDATE ON BOUNDARY CONSULTATION AND PROPOSED SCHEME

The Council considered a report by the Head of Legal and Democratic Services which presented to members the responses received following the public consultation process undertaken for the review of the current Scheme of Establishment of Community Councils and Community Council boundaries.

Members were asked to agree a recommended response to the submissions received during the consultation process, finalise the Scheme document and confirm any changes in respect of Community Council boundaries.

Lochgelly/Benarty Boundary

Motion

Councillor/

Councillor Hamilton, seconded by Councillor Craik, moved as follows:-

2021 FC 260

"Propose that the Lochgelly Community Council Boundary (Appendix 5) is subject to a full review and that the council seeks independent advice and support to carry out this review."

Amendment

Councillor Liewald, seconded by Councillor McLelland, moved as follows:-

"Fife Council upholds the decision which was taken by the Community & Housing Services Committee on 14th February, 2019. To note the results of the consultation exercise relating to the boundaries of Benarty and Lochgelly Community Councils; and confirm the boundary of Benarty and Lochgelly Community Councils as being the map of the original consultation version of the revised boundary. The lower of the two lines was accepted as the new boundary being closer to Lochgelly.

Council requests that the map showing the new boundary be uploaded to Fife Council's website and both Community Councils be informed of this ratified decision within 21 days from this date."

Roll Call

For the Motion – 28 votes

Councillors Tim Brett, James Calder, Alistair Cameron, Ian Cameron, Alex Campbell, Bobby Clelland, Altany Craik, Neil Crooks, Colin Davidson, Linda Erskine, David Graham, Gary Guichan, Garry Haldane, Judy Hamilton, Gordon Langlands, Helen Law, Jim Leishman, Mary Lockhart, Donald Lothian, Derek Noble, Ross Paterson, Bill Porteous, David Ross, Ryan Smart, Jonny Tepp, Brian Thomson, Andrew Verrecchia and Jan Wincott.

For the Amendment – 30 votes

Councillors David Alexander, Lesley Backhouse, Alistair Bain, David Barratt, John Beare, Ken Caldwell, Rod Cavanagh, Bill Connor, John Docherty, Ian Ferguson, Derek Glen, Fiona Grant, Sharon Green-Wilson, Jean Hall Muir, Zoe Hisbent, Linda Holt, Rosemary Liewald, Carol Lindsay, Jane Ann Liston, David MacDiarmid, Karen Marjoram, Lea McLelland, Alice McGarry, John O'Brien, Fay Sinclair, Kate Stewart, Ann Verner, Ross Vettraino, Craig Walker and Vikki Wilton.

Abstained – Councillors Dave Coleman, Dave Dempsey, Mick Green, Andy Heer, Margaret Kennedy, Kathleen Leslie, Mino Manekshaw, Dominic Nolan, Tony Orton, Graham Ritchie, David J Ross and Darren Watt.

Accordingly, the Amendment was carried.

St/

St Andrews/Cameron Boundary

Motion

Councillor Holt, seconded by Councillor Porteous, moved as follows:-

2021 FC 261

"Propose that the request by St Andrews CC to annex part of Cameron be rejected."

The motion was agreed unanimously.

Decision

The Council:-

- (1) noted the consultation responses;
- (2) approved the changes to the Community Council boundaries, as set out in Appendix 1, with associated maps at Appendix 2 of the report;
- (3) noted the proposals for boundary changes which had been withdrawn, as set out in Appendix 3 of the report;
- (4) agreed that no further action be taken in respect of those proposals submitted by members of the public which were not supported by the affected Community Council(s) and ward members, as set out in Appendix 4 of the report;
- (5) agreed to uphold the decision of the Community and Housing Services Committee of 14th February, 2019 in relation to the boundary between Lochgelly and Benarty and to ensure that a map showing the revised boundary be made available on the Council's website as soon as possible;
- (6) agreed that the boundary between St Andrews and Cameron remained unchanged; and
- (7) approved the revised Scheme of Establishment, Election Rules and associated documents, as set out in Appendix 10 of the report, be formally adopted by Fife Council; and
- (8) agreed that the revised Scheme of Establishment be promoted to Community Councils and made available through the Council's website.